Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Title: New technologies for ammonium dinitramide based monopropellant thrusters – The project RHEFORM
Authors: Negri, Michele 
Wilhelm, Marius 
Hendrich, Christian 
Wingborg, Niklas 
Gediminas, Linus 
Adelöw, Leif 
Maleix, Corentin 
Chabernaud, Pierre 
Brahmi, Rachid 
Beauchet, Romain 
Batonneau, Yann 
Kappenstein, Charles 
Koopmans, Robert-Jan 
Schuh, Sebastian 
Bartok, Tobias 
Scharlemann, Carsten 
Gotzig, Ulrich 
Schwentenwein, Martin 
Keywords: Green propellant;Ammonium dinitramide (ADN);Hydrazine replacement;Catalyst development;Catalytic ignition;Thermal ignition
Issue Date: 2018
Publisher: Elsevier
Source: Acta Astronautica, 143, 105-117
Journal: Acta Astronautica 
Abstract: New technologies are developed in the project RHEFORM to enable the replacement of hydrazine with liquid propellants based on ammonium dinitramide (ADN). The replacement of hydrazine with green propellants will make space propulsion more sustainable and better suitable for the requirements of future missions. In the RHEFORM project investigation on the composition of the propellants are conducted to enable the use of materials for catalysts and combustion chambers which are not subject to the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR). New igniters are under development aiming at a reduction of required energy and a more prompt ignition. Two different types of igniters are considered: improved catalytic igniters and thermal igniters. The technologies developed in RHEFORM will be implemented in two thruster demonstrators, aiming at a technology readiness level (TRL) of 5. In the present work the results obtained in the first half of the project are presented.
ISSN: 0094-5765
DOI: 10.1016/j.actaastro.2017.11.016
Rights: info:eu-repo/semantics/openAccess
Appears in Collections:Schwerpunkt Energie & Umwelt

SFX Query Show full item record


checked on Jan 15, 2022

Page view(s)

checked on Jan 22, 2022

Google ScholarTM




This item is licensed under a Creative Commons License Creative Commons